Urbandumpsterdiver's Blog

August 27, 2009

Dumpster Diving Friend – Tonight’s Finds

Filed under: Uncategorized — urbandumpsterdiver @ 11:32 pm

Drove to one of the stops on my route tonight. Bumped into a fellow diver. Senior citizen, late 70’s. Dumpster divers for the most part are good people. We met for the first time a few weeks ago. She’s a little braver than me. She parks her car right up to the dumpster and just jumps in the bin if she sees some serious goodies. She’s a spry thin woman who has a lot of spark left in her. I like that.

We talked a little. She’s on a fixed income (social security) and lives in a mobile home. Her son who is my age lost his job and is now living with her to get back on his feet. She foraged about 3 dozen bags of chips (still new intact in their bags). She gave a box to me. She didn’t have to, but that’s how we divers are. Also got about dozen name brand liquor velvet bags (would be good for gifts) and several paper bags (good for lunches).

She told me many people in her mobile home park are hurting big time. As a lot of us are. Whatever she doesn’t use, she passes around the park. I do the same things with my neighbors and friends. She’s been diving 20 years. We both agree it’s addictive and it really is, but in a good way. We’re saving these items from being thrown in the landfill and we’re saving money.

The other night the store threw out a brand new fire pit table. Nothing wrong with it whatsoever. It’s not something I’d use but someone else could use it. There is another young male diver I see there occasionally. He’s looking for bigger ticket items. I walked over to him and said you know you should take that home.

He said nah, you saw it first. I said yeah, I did, but I’ll never use it. So he comes to pick it up and hauls it in his truck. He has a little one and a wife. He lost his job and the wife is the only one working. He said you know, this fire pit table will be just perfect. The wife and I can’t go out that much as money is tight, but this would be good in our back porch. We can sit and have a beer and have a romantic evening.

That made my night.

2 Comments »

  1. U.D.D,
    a beautiful tale. Solidarity+ sharing………..
    I so admire, ‘the Senior gleaner’.I hope I have that drive +courage, when I am older. I feel for vulnerable people, especially with children, trying to survive.
    Have you seen the delightful French films, “The Gleaners and I” parts 1 + 2. ca. 5 years old, by Agnes Varda(now in her senior years). It is a documentary. Part 1 covers the depiction of ‘gleaning’ in art, history, legally+ following various ‘gleaners’in their daily lives. Also, their reasons + philosophy of RE-USE. Part2 follows up the characters and the enormous positive response to the project. My local Australian public library carries the DVD. I would like to hear your opinion.
    Best wishes.
    ‘Waste not, want not’.

    Comment by annineorh — January 7, 2011 @ 3:28 am

  2. Hi there Annie!

    I will check out that gleaning documentary, sounds VERY interesting. If I can’t find it at the library I will look it up on youtube.

    I plan on diving this weekend. I’ve not done any diving at my new locale and I’m simply itching to get out. My boyfriend works shift work so my schedule is crazy with him, however, since he’s a dumpster diver as well and has dived many a thing, I’m just going to push him out the door so we can go.

    A lot of seniors dive, more than people think, some out of necessity and some out of the mentality that wasting good products and food is a SIN.

    Comment by urbandumpsterdiver — January 7, 2011 @ 7:43 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

