Urbandumpsterdiver's Blog

September 6, 2009

Sunday Summer Night

Filed under: Uncategorized — urbandumpsterdiver @ 11:06 pm

What I found tonight was disturbing and it really bothered me.

In my town a lot of residents will put stuff out on the sidewalks so that anyone who wants them can have them for free. I think that’s great. Another man’s trash is another man’s treasure.

We have so many people out of work right now and I don’t think it’s going to get any better anytime soon.

I was on my usual route tonight and found a brand new beach umbrella dumped in the trash along with a sun hat. Both were perfectly brand new but they’d been slashed with either a knife or a pair of scissors. I just don’t get it. I don’t sell any of the stuff I find, I usually give it to someone who could use it.

The umbrella I had planned on giving to a neighbor. She’s a young single mom, part of the working poor with a young son. Actually he’s a well mannered good kid. She could have used that umbrella when she took him to the beach and that hat she could have used to protect her skin from the sun.

It takes more effort to cut the item up than to just toss into the trash. On a couple of my routes I had asked the store manager or employees to please not cut these things up. Put them in a trash bag and I will dig them out, but please don’t destroy them. But sometimes stores change managers and employees.

I’m a capitalist by nature. I believe in the free market and businesses do have a right to do whatever they want with the products they decide to throw in the trash. However, times are tough. For years when things were good, people like me and my neighbor spent a large part of our disposable income at these stores.

I hate waste. I think it’s a sin. Wouldn’t we be better off as a society giving that trash to someone who could use it rather than throw it in a landfill?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

