Urbandumpsterdiver's Blog

September 7, 2009

Happy Labor Day

Filed under: Uncategorized — urbandumpsterdiver @ 11:15 pm

Labor day to some is depressing, especially those without jobs. I feel their pain. I’m starting a new job in 2 weeks and there is no way of knowing how long this job will last. I’ll just wait and see.

Spent the day with friends eating steak, potato salad and cheesecake. What a good meal. A good meal made by a good friend. Watched the movie Hangover. A laugh out loud crying your eyes out movie. I so needed the laugh.

After I left I went on my route. Found some bottled water still intact, that helps. I can use that for sure.

For those of you who are still looking for work and are hurting financially, I feel your pain. Cutting costs does not mean you cannot have fun.

If there is a good movie I want to see, I want until it comes to my local library and I rent it for free or $1 if it’s a new movie. I buy most of my produce from local produce stores which are actually cheaper than the larger chains. I go to the beach a lot. Sometimes in the winter I take a chair with a blanket and read a book. The negative ions of the ocean really help calm the mind.

If I really want a book I wait until Borders has a 40% coupon and then buy it. I usually give the book away to someone who needs it or I donate it to the library. I always find that if I give stuff away, it always returns to me tenfold.

Job seekers – get involved in a charity or a cause. Employers can smell it if you’re desperate for a job and that desperation erodes your confidence. Sometimes you have to back off job searching (if you can) and just breathe.

Who knows that chairperson at your local charity or political group just may be the HR manager or supervisor in a company who may need someone like you. I think the days of blindly sending out unsolicited emails are over. You really do have to know someone and you have to continue those friendships ad infinitum.

This economy has forced people out of the malls. It’s forced some of us to step away from the computer, make eye contact with your neighbors and network. To me it’s the only way to a sustainable society.

2 Comments »

  1. Boy I sure hope your way of thinking come around. I am a 52 year old full time student and am a fellow dumpster diver. I am sick of all this computer shit just to get a job as I will be out there looking in about a year. I don’t even know how to create a facebook page and don’t want to. I miss people connecting. I’m currently doing an essay on dumpster diving and that’s how I read your blog. I need a good summary to my essay and if you have any good ideas, please pass them on, hang in there as there are lots of us out there. suzy

    Comment by suzy — November 25, 2011 @ 9:24 pm

  2. Suzy, my way of thinking is coming around. Americans no longer have any choice. Our back is up against the wall and we’re at the last house on the left. Just like the addict hits rock bottom and joins AA, America is still in denial and needs an intervention. I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again, until this nation’s soccer moms are living under the bridge with their children, nothing will change for the better. We need a worldwide makeover. Look at my tips on living homeless, even if you’re not homeless that will give you a lot of tips on saving money and living more like a nomad.

    Comment by urbandumpsterdiver — December 14, 2011 @ 10:10 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

