Urbandumpsterdiver's Blog

October 8, 2009

Popcorn Night

Filed under: Uncategorized — urbandumpsterdiver @ 2:00 am

1 bottle of children’s cough syrup, 25 containers of microwave popcorn, teeth whitening strips, adult diapers (work great for cleaning the house and floor), 1 new purse, high end candies, Chrismtas lights, K-Y Jelly, mascara, paper clips and 1 set of stereo headphones.

The Adult diapers are very good for cleaning up any big spills (the cloth side of them) or a bandaid if you were bleeding.

As far as the K-Y jelly goes, who knows? The seal was still on so it’s safe to take. I read somewhere it’s a good lip gloss. Nope, I won’t touch that one with a ten foot pole.

I’ve got so much food stockpiled now, I’m going to have to give some away. I hate clutter. I keep a pretty clean house so once my finds pile up, they’re off to be donated or sold at a garage sale. I’m having a garage sale pretty soon. The extra money helps me out and keeps food on the table.

I sold a few items this week. The money I got from those items went for meat for the week. I found a good deal on steak. I section the meat off and put it in individual zip lock bags. That way I take one out, let it thaw and cook it on my George Foreman grill.

2 Comments »

  1. Sounds like you dive behind a Rite Aid or something… lol.

    Do you keep notes on when you find dumpsters empty, or how full they are when you check them? Also good to keep a map of what dumpsters are where, when they get emptied, what kind of stuff found, etc.

    Do you find a lot of locked dumpsters?

    Comment by Henry — October 8, 2009 @ 5:34 pm

  2. Henry – I keep a diary of when and where I find things. I actually buy things once in a while, LOL. I was just at Costco stocking up on essentials, bleach, etc.

    I find that my finds are pretty much the same nights. I do get surprised once in a while, but my intuition has been on target. Usually the nights I get the most – I can sense it.

    A lot of the stuff I’ve found I’m going to send to our boys overseas. The candy and popcorn they can use. They also need baby wipes. If they’re out in the desert they can’t take baths and their water supply is limited.

    A lot of times I’ll find out through friends if someone is hurting financially. I’ll make up a big basket of stuff and drop it off on their doorstep.

    I call myself the food fairy.

    Comment by urbandumpsterdiver — October 8, 2009 @ 6:31 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

