Urbandumpsterdiver's Blog

November 5, 2009

Chocolate Fudge

Filed under: Uncategorized — urbandumpsterdiver @ 2:48 am

I’ve been finding so much stuff – it’s hard to keep track of it all. Tons of microwave popcorn, cosmetics, soap, shampoo, bottled water, etc.

Now since it’s daylight savings time and it gets darker earlier, I can leave the house earlier to dive. Much nicer this way. And since the weather is getting cooler, it’s safer to dive for meat. Yes many a diver gets tons of meat and produce out of the dumpster.

As far as the meat goes – ONLY if it’s just been thrown out and if it’s pre-cooked meat like a sausage link, I give it the smell test. I’ve never been sick and I certainly don’t look like I’ve missed a meal either.

At this point in time, diving is necessity for me. Money is tight, really tight. But I will persevere. I worry about the sad state of the economy and wonder what is going to happen. But I have to live one day at a time or I’ll make myself crazy.

In a couple of weeks I have company. I’m making pot roast for a couple of young men in my political group who are visiting this area. They’re both fairly poor and a good home cooked meal would do them a world of good.

That’s where the fudge mix comes in. The one who’s coming to town is a bonafide freegan so he’ll have no problem eating dived food. I’m making a big pot of dark chocolate fudge.

Doesn’t fudge sound wonderful right now?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

