Urbandumpsterdiver's Blog

February 1, 2010

Sun Jan 31

Filed under: Uncategorized — urbandumpsterdiver @ 1:10 am

Sunday Night – Big Mother Lode Night

Found tons of stuff. Brand new. Blew me away. One of the biggest hauls I’ve had in a long time. In fact while I was at the dumpster 1 manager and his staff threw out a huge bin of just stuff, new stuff (allegedly expired or defective). Not true. He didn’t seem to mind I was picking stuff out of the trash – he’s probably seen this tons of time. The younger kid whispered to me as the manager was out of earshot – take what you need out of the dumpster and give it to poor people. That was one of the sweetest things I’ve ever heard. Gives me faith in young people.

 Here is the finds for the night:

 Sanitary pads

Razors

Hair straightener (brand new in box)

Cosmetics (blush, lip gloss, eye shadow, mascara)

Shampoo, deodorant, shower gel, soap and lotion

Bath salts

Chocolate truffles (I had to give them away to my neighbor who has a sweet tooth, if I kept them at my house I’d be 600 pounds and you’d see me on the Dr. Phil show being taken out of my house in a crane).

1 new toothbrush

Knee Hi panty Hose and full size panty hose

Starbucks Frappucino (can and bottle)

Bag of straws

3 pair of new underwear

1 pill box (one for each day, good for my vitamins)

Shower brush and loofah

Tabu perfume set (this perfume I wore when I was a teenager). This was brand new in the box unopened. This I will keep.

Cuticle cream

2 single room portable heaters (can sell at garage sale)

1 blow dryer

1 alarm clock

I had so much stuff, it literally took me a couple of hours to put the stuff away. Our local museum is having free admission if you bring boxed food. I have an entire crate of cereal I’ll be bringing in to feed the hungry and get free admission. I love art but I can’t justify their admission price to such a small museum.

The cosmetics will go to a local charity that helps homeless or near homeless women who are trying to get back into mainstream society. The makeup is new, unopened. A lot of times the makeup is on clearance, can’t be sold and the store needs to dispose of it. Makeup is not cheap anymore and every little bit helps.

This economy really sucks. But dumpster diving has literally saved my ass. Not having to buy bread, cosmetics and toiletries has saved me tons of money. I’m grateful for everything I find.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

