Urbandumpsterdiver's Blog

April 14, 2011

Redneck Oasis

Filed under: Uncategorized — urbandumpsterdiver @ 4:30 pm

Brand new remnant carpet. Using several strips in my carport. As it gets hotter outside in Florida I usually sit outside to cook and eat. I try not to use the AC until I absolutely have to. Saves energy and puts less stress on mother earth, PLUS natural fresh air is far better. I’m firmly committed to reducing my carbon footprint.

There is a local store who throws away perfectly brand new carpet on a daily basis.

I’m giving the rest of the carpet away to those who need it. With so many foreclosed homes in my area, there are plenty of people who may be purchasing those foreclosed homes (the working poor) who could use the carpet. That’s my target audience.

The dolly was thrown in the trash. The only thing wrong with it was that the right wheel was missing a few bolts. My hubby put in new bolts from his toolbox (men can never have enough tools) and now it’s fully functional and free!

That dolly would have ended up in a landfill FOREVER. Now we have one and will use it quite frequently.

We’re also setting up a little oasis in our backyard. Since gas is so costly we’re reducing our time driving to the beach. I’ve put up a little kiddy pool that’s about 2 foot deep. It’s wide and long enough to sit in, splash around and just cool off. I can sit in my little kiddy pool I bought at Target and drink a cool glass of lemonade.

Secondly, I bought a tent that holds ten people and is 6.2 foot tall. At night when my hubby gets home, we can splash around in our little pool and then sit in the tent, have dinner (the bugs get really bad here) and watch the stars. Cheap fun and wholesome therapy.

I call it my redneck oasis. Will be posting pics soon as we get it set up.

Next Friday is Earth Day and Good Friday. Stand next to a tree and give blessings to mother earth.

1 Comment »

  1. So. If I come down to visit…will you want me to park my car on cement blocks to match the Redneck Motif?

    Comment by Ghostwalker — April 14, 2011 @ 8:47 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

