Urbandumpsterdiver's Blog

September 29, 2011

High End Coffee Maker and Spray Paint

Filed under: Uncategorized — urbandumpsterdiver @ 10:31 pm

On our trip home we decided to stop by a large shopping mall. Retrieved 7 boxes of 400 watt industrial lights (brand new), one Keurig high end coffee maker (which had been sprayed with orange spray paint) and one food storage container (also sprayed with orange spray paint). I’m almost positive the store did that so that someone wouldn’t retrieve it from the trash and try to return it, OR they’re just mean spirited and purposely destroying the item rather than giving it to a local needy family. I guess I’m just very weary of the cynical and mean spirited behaviors of these corporate megastores who have no soul.

There was a large queen sized sleep foam mattress perfectly good in the trash. It was too heavy to take out plus it was heavily sprayed with orange spray paint. It just made my husband’s heart sick to see that. He had planned on taking that bed to some local tent city or giving it some homeless man or woman living in their van. We were going to sanitize it in the sun and then spray it with some sort of delousing spray to make it cleaner.

The coffeemaker picture is attached. It works. We got some graffiti remover and it took care of the stain, HOWEVER, that particular graffiti sprayer can scratch and mar plastic. The coffee maker is free of orange paint but the plastic canister has a distorted portion now.

On our way home we delivered a box of chips, snacks and real food to a local family my husband knows in the area. They’re raising their 13 year old granddaughter. They can use the food. I plan on coming by there again in a few months. I’m going to see what I can find for that young lady as far as clothes or personal grooming products. We all know how important it is for our teenagers to fit in. If our youngsters (especially girls) don’t have the right clothes, they are teased and made fun of. So if I cannot find enough stuff for her, I plan on buying her at least a few cute shirts and jeans to tide her over.

Keurig

4 Comments »

  1. We love your life stories and noble generosity.
    You are beautiful.
    Ta.

    Comment by anni — September 30, 2011 @ 6:49 am

  2. Oh thank you TA. It’s in my nature to be this way. I don’t know of any other way of being. I’m going to order from Keurig a new carafe. That way if I give it away, it’s nice and shiny.

    Comment by urbandumpsterdiver — September 30, 2011 @ 8:13 am

  3. hey I am a DDpro back in my hometown of Austin, tx where there is SOOO many places to score from, hours a day/night makin the rounds successfully finding great stuff…
    I am mostly wanting to let you know that I have pulled out probably over 150 Keurigs (+Tassimo etc machines) of all models in the past two years and literally thousands of Kcups, and most of which machines were sprayed with orange/whatever color spraypaint, which I masterfully learned to remove with such skill that I would sell them off craigslist on the daily for 75-130$ and the kcups I sold 300 for $100 all over town to professionals, businesses and bargain hunting keurig lovers. I might add, a lot of thses machines I found had their parts and accessories strewn about in the dumpster, which I would ALWAYS scour to get no matter what, so I had a large inventory of compete parts when needed (or when say some were cracked or too damaged) … ALSO I had taught myself how to do electrical work which was crucial bc I was finding a huge amount of items with their cords cut (even when they were brand new tossed out with their original box and packaging etc) so I always grabbed the cut cord that was in the dumpster as well… and I would unscrew the bottom plate, splice the wires and heatshrink them back together and tuck that part back inside the machine, screw the bottom back on and VOILA there was usually enough cord length left from the cut that one wouldn’t even know that it was a few inches short – and always the machine worked perfectly. But what I wanted to tell you about mostly, was thru this saga of my Keurig Lady ooperation, I found the best cleaner to remove the spraypaint (ps the real thick glaze paint they sometimes spray – depends on store or manager or whatever- was sometimes a heavy duty road paint epoxy type that was much more damaging to the plastic water reservoirs bc it sort of melted into them – thus why I always took every part I found even if there wasn’t a machine in the dumpster to go along with it, so to have spare extras to use in this case) andyways, believe it or not, WD-40 and goo-gone and goof-off were the winners and my go-to cleaners, magic erasers, and lots of q-tips, toothbrushes. Then id rinse them down with mild dish soap and bam good as new! sort of the process somewould say, but that’s 15,000$ of just coffee makers saved and recycled and income in my pocket. pretty amazing, id say.
    WD-40
    Goof Off (NOT the professional kind – which has Acetone- that eats away the plastic resins! Avoid those kinds of cleaners)
    Goo Gone

    Comment by m — January 10, 2014 @ 4:47 pm

  4. Good for you!These are the kind of comments that make me a very happy diver.I’ve not been finding squat! But I’m thrilled to have you on UDD. Please come back!

    Comment by urbandumpsterdiver — January 10, 2014 @ 6:37 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

