Urbandumpsterdiver's Blog

June 5, 2014

Dumpster Diving Injuries

Filed under: Uncategorized — urbandumpsterdiver @ 10:03 pm
Tags: , ,

When I first started diving. I did it alone. I wasn’t a seasoned diver and I had to learn the hard way how to do dive properly. For years I would hold the diving stick in my right hand (my dominant side) and the flashlight in my left hand. I remember coming home at night with my right shoulder and arm hurting, but it was OK the next day. Now looking back on it, I should have been using a headlamp and using both hands to grab items.

For about a year I’ve been having shoulder issues. Pain, stiffness and almost close to a frozen shoulder. I waited until we moved out of the city and got settled before I decided to see a doctor. So off to the doctor I went for physical therapy treatment and massage. But I kept irritating it and it wasn’t healing. My husband does all the heavy lifting, but I would get so excited about finds and wanting to hurry the heck out of the location before management or someone else came outside, I would jump out of my car and help!

Finally the pain became so bad, I decided to back off diving for a week and things are improving. I’m starting acupuncture in a few weeks and I should be on the road to healing again.

We still dumpster dive, but right now I’m only the chauffeur. I write the articles about our finds, but my dear husband does the lifting and jumping into the dumpster. Tissue injuries take a long time to heal and I have to take a step back and just let my arm heal.

Word to the wise. Use a headlamp and don’t use just one arm. If it’s too heavy, have someone who has the upper body strength to do it, just don’t get injured. If any of you have shoulder issues, please let me know what worked for you.

1 Comment »

  1. Have been using SalonPas, Icy Hot and Ice. Things are improving. Working out, just not with weights yet, just power walking.

    Comment by Moon Goddess — October 16, 2014 @ 11:47 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

